Taxes and Divorce: When Do You File Alone

Taxes and Divorce Laws

Filing taxes can be a daunting task. In the United States, there are currently five filing options, as follows:

  • Single;
  • Married filing jointly;
  • Married filing separately;
  • Head of household; and
  • Qualifying widow(er) with dependent child.

Determining which filing status to use, and whether to file jointly or separately, depends on a number of different factors. First and foremost, your marital status on the last day of December dictates your marital status for tax purposes for the entire year. Consequently, if your divorce is not final, you may choose to file joint tax returns, married filing separately, or, under certain circumstances, filing as a single person. read more

Why You Need To Know the Differences Between Contested and Uncontested Divorce

Divorce

In Florida, any couple that wants a divorce must file a petition for Dissolution of Marriage. If they can agree on all or most major issues, they may sign a Marital Settlement Agreement, that details how they have agreed on all the major issues in the divorce. If children are involved, they may also devise a Parenting Plan, which states the rights and obligations both parents have concerning issues involving shared parental responsibility, timesharing, child support, health insurance, extra-curricular activities, decision making authority and other applicable parenting issues. read more

7 Things You Should Not Do During Your Divorce in Florida

As most anyone who has been entangled in a divorce in Florida will tell you it is rarely easy or smooth. Tensions can mount, and poor decisions are made when tempers flare, only to be regretted later. When you consider the array of overwhelming details which must be decided, it’s really no wonder couples end up making mistakes during their divorce. To have fewer regrets later, consider the following tips which you should avoid doing amid your divorce proceedings.

1.Do not increase your debt in any way. Let’s face it, divorce in Florida can be a costly process. Even for the simplest uncontested divorce, both parties will likely pay their attorney from $1,500-$3,000 each—and few divorces are that simple. Aside from divorce attorney fees, at least one spouse will need money to begin a new life including securing a home which can include first and last month’s rent, utility deposits and the actual costs of moving your things. And don’t forget, instead of one set of bills on two salaries you will now be dealing with two sets of bills and an equitable distribution of your marital assets. Start practicing frugal living from the moment you decide to divorce, and don’t take on any additional debt. read more